Media Release: RDA appoints new board members

RDA appoints new board members

February 2024


Regional Development Australia Yorke and Mid North (RDA Yorke and Mid North) has announced the appointment of three new board members, adding to the breadth and depth of regional leaders working to deliver a bright future for the Yorke and Mid North region.

The newly appointed members are Katina Athanasos (Port Pirie), Mayor Sue Scarman (Beetaloo Valley) and David Stevenson (Burra, via Clare), appointed from a competitive field of applicants following a rigorous process. These appointments have been made alongside the re-appointment of current Deputy Chair, Mr Brenton Vanstone (Wanderah), and current board members Lyndsey Jackson (Moonta) and Lindsay Crouch (Merriton).

RDA Yorke and Mid North Chair, Bill Vandepeer, spoke of his excitement in announcing the appointments.
“I am thrilled to have people of the calibre of Katina, Sue and David joining our board. Their combination of education, tourism, local government and commercial expertise will complement those brought by our current board to enhance our ability to work with regional stakeholders in seizing opportunities and addressing the challenges prevailing in our communities.” said Mr Vandepeer.

The recent appointments have been as part of the continual renewal of the organisation, following the conclusion of several current board members’ terms. “Phil Heaslip, Tom Rosewarne and James Black have each made significant contributions to our organisation and the Yorke and Mid North region, lending their respective sets of expertise, insights and perspectives to our organisation in growing the economic prosperity and liveability of the region. We thank them for their valuable service.” said Mr Vandepeer.

The board members’ appointments are effective 1st February 2024 until 31st January 2026.

For more information, please contact:

Bill Vandepeer
0407 818 454